The College is only open to our most vulnerable students (including those on EHCPs, or who are in care or have a social worker) and the children of key workers. All lessons will continue to run virtually for all students. The College opens at 9am. Please notify us before 10.30am if you wish to access the College past 12 noon so we can ensure facilities and access are available. The government has published a letter explaining how the summer grades will be calculated. The letter has been emailed to you and a link is in the news section of this website.
Skip navigation

Students Win Aberystwyth University Awards

Posted on 14th March 2018

Some of the recipients of Aberystwyth University scholarship awards with the Principal, Peter Cooper | Pictured L-R: Ed Bullock, Daniel Beckett, Amy Hammonds, Peter Cooper, Owen Clee, Jack Prosser and Ben McKenzie

Students from Hereford Sixth Form College have been successful in Aberystwyth University’s Entrance Scholarship competition.

This year, the University awarded 68 Scholarships and a number of Merit Awards to students applying to study at Aberystwyth in September 2018. 

Josephine Franklin was awarded an Open Scholarship, Amy Hammonds was awarded an Evan Morgan Scholarship, Megan Wilkins was awarded an Institute Entrance Scholarship, Jack Prosser, Jack Robinson and Charlotte Ward received Merit Awards, and Daniel Beckett, Edward Bullock, Owen Clee, Jon Faulkner and Benjamin McKenzie all received unconditional offers based on their strong performance in the exams.

Peter Cooper, Principal of the College, congratulated the students saying “We are delighted that once again our students have demonstrated their talents and skills and these have been recognised and rewarded by Aberystwyth University. It is a great tribute to the students efforts and to the staff who have supported and encouraged them throughout their studies.” 

Aberystwyth University runs a scholarship competition every January, with awards worth up to £2,000 a year to help students with their living costs. The Entrance Scholarships are part of a wider package of scholarships and bursaries offered by the University. Kylie Evans, Academic Awards Officer at Aberystwyth University, said, “We would like to congratulate the students who have been successful in this year’s exams and we look forward to welcoming them to Aberystwyth in September. The entrance exams recognise academic ability but we also have a wide range of other awards to help students with their living costs. In some cases, students can receive in excess of £15,000 over the course of their studies.”

Other awards available include:

  • Academic Excellence Studentships
  • Departmental Scholarships
  • Sports Scholarships
  • Music Scholarships
  • Means-tested Aberystwyth Bursary
  • Welsh Medium Study Scholarships
  • Bursaries for Care Leavers and Young Carers

Amy Hammonds, awarded an Evan Morgan Scholarship, said, “I am delighted with the results of the entrance scholarship exam and I can’t wait to start Aberystwyth University in September. I would also like to thank my teachers for their help and support”.

To find out more about Aberystwyth University awards, or 01970 622065.