Skip navigation

Health & Social Care - First Certificate

Find a course

BTEC Level 2 First Certificate in Health and Social Care

This BTEC qualification is equivalent to two GCSE’s and aims to inspire and enthuse those considering a career in the health and social care sector, or in a related sector where knowledge of health and social care will be of use, such as early years education.

What does the course involve?

The qualification typically makes up one half of a full time study programme taken over one year. The course consists of 8 units of which 25% is assessed through external examinations and 75% is assessed through written assignments.

The units

Two core units:

  • Human Lifespan Development (external assessment).
  • Health and Social Care Values (internal assessment).

Two mandatory units:

  • Effective Communication in Health and Social Care (internal assessment).
  • Healthy Living (external assessment).

Four optional units:

  • Social Influences on Health and Wellbeing (internal assessment).
  • Promoting Health and Wellbeing (internal assessment).
  • The Impact of Nutrition on Health and Wellbeing (internal assessment).
  • Equality and Diversity in Health and Social Care (internal assessment).

Work experience

Although not compulsory it is useful to arrange relevant work experience in a Health and Social Care setting as this will help you to gather evidence for your assignments and will support your understanding of the examined material.

What can you do after the course?

Many students progress to a more specialised level 3 Health and Social care course. You may also consider an apprenticeship or employment within a range of junior job roles across the health and social care sector.

Use this BrowseAloud app to add speech and reading support to our website content